Who We Are

Our Structure

As a coalition of organizations and individuals working to prioritize climate justice, mitigation, sustainability, and resilience in South Florida, the Miami Climate Alliance promotes a community that supports the well-being and prospects of all its current and future members.

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is focused on the implementation of strategic objectives, providing momentum for targeted goals, supporting the work of working groups and committees, and coordinating internal communication and collaboration within the MCA network. The Steering Committee also helps to convene alliance members and the broader environmental justice community around our equity agenda.

Trenise Bryant (Miami Workers Center)
Emily Gorman (Sierra Club)
Zelalem Adefris (Catalyst Miami)

David McDougal
Melissa Taveras
Nancy Metayer
Gabriela Betancourt (Unite Here) 
Mayra Cruz (Catalyst Miami) 
Joanne Perodin (New Florida Majority) 
Erik Ofengand (350 South Florida) 
Zachariah Cosner (FL Conservation Voters) 
Shawn Wilborne 

Standing Committees

Legislative Committee
The MCA Legislative Committee provides vital information, study, expertise, and perspectives to federal, state, and local MCA priority policy and issue areas.

Outreach/Membership Committee
The MCA Outreach Committee is focused on growing our movement through high-traffic-event canvassing, flood-zone door-to-door canvassing, speaking at MCA member organization events (to increase buy-in within MCA network), and speaking at non-MCA organization events, including city council and commission meetings, educational organizations, and intersectional social justice gatherings. 

Communications Committee
The MCA Communications Committee works together to design, execute, evaluate and improve our communications strategy, including both strengthening the communications infrastructure within the alliance and driving our outreach to key constituencies and decision-makers. 

Development Committee
Provides financial oversight and will work with the newly forming advisory committee to identify and pursue funding opportunities. 

Working Groups

Clean Energy Working Group

MCA and partners co-lead a campaign pushing for the adoption of renewable energy solutions for low-income and working class Miamians; includes advocacy for weatherization jobs programs, access to solar power, and using modern energy technology to increase disaster resilience for Miami’s underserved communities.

CALLS: Mondays at 4 pm
LEADS: Mayra Cruz (Catalyst Miami) and MacKenzie Marcelin (New Florida Majority)
To join email: miamiclimatealliance@gmail.com

Resilient Miami Working Group

MCA and partners co-lead a campaign to increase accountability and community input regarding government funding for development and infrastructure projects in Miami; includes advocacy for prioritizing low-income and working class communities’ needs and voices within climate resilience adaptation efforts.

LEAD: Zelalem Adefris (Catalyst Miami)
To join email: miamiclimatealliance@gmail.com

Disaster Resilience Working Group

MCA, partners and community members co-lead this working group to address and understand the climate crisis, adaptation to and recovery from climate and other disasters impacting communities in South Florida.

CALLS: Every other Thursday at 4pm
LEAD: Joanne Perodin (New Florida Majority)
To join email: miamiclimatealliance@gmail.com

linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram