As vehicles for coordinating shared work across our 80+ member organizations, committees and working groups are able to respond quickly to pressing issues by leveraging our network of diverse organizations and volunteers.

Steering Committee
The Steering Committee is focused on the implementation of strategic objectives, providing momentum for targeted goals, supporting the work of working groups and committees, and coordinating internal communication and collaboration within the MCA network. The Steering Committee also helps to convene alliance members and the broader environmental justice community around our equity agenda.

CHAIR:   Emily Gorman, Sierra Club
TREASURER:    Nancy Metayer, New Florida Majority
Zelalem Adefris, Catalyst Miami
Trenise Bryant, The Miami Workers Center
Salome Garcia, 350 South Florida
Cynthia Hernandez, AFL-CIO
Adrian Madriz, SMASH
David McDougal, Consultant
Eleazar Melendez, Communications Consultant
Bruce Stanley, Emerge Miami
Melissa Tavares, Sachamama / FLIC
Claudia Tenzer, Conservation Concepts

Standing Committees

Legislative Committee: The MCA Legislative Committee provides vital information, study, expertise, and perspectives to federal, state, and local MCA priority policy and issue areas.
— Chair:  Eleazar Melendez, Communications Consultant

Outreach/Membership Committee: The MCA Outreach Committee is focused on growing our movement through high-traffic-event canvassing, flood-zone door-to-door canvassing, speaking at MCA member organization events (to increase buy-in within MCA network), and speaking at non-MCA organization events, including city council and commission meetings, educational organizations, and intersectional social justice gatherings.
— Chair:  Trenise Bryant, Miami Workers Center  + Adrian Madriz, SMASH

Communications Committee: The MCA Communications Committee works together to design, execute, evaluate and improve our communications strategy, including both strengthening the communications infrastructure within the alliance and driving our outreach to key constituencies and decision-makers.
— Chair:  Melissa Taveras, Sachamama/FLIC

Development Committee:  provides financial oversight and will work with the newly forming advisory committee to identify and pursue funding opportunities.
–Chair:  David McDougal, Consultant

Working Groups

Working groups are created on an as-needed basis to address and organize around pressing and timely issues.

Clean Energy Working Group
Mondays at 5:30 pm | Call in – (888) 625-7782
LEAD:   Zelalem Adefris, Catalyst Miami

Resilient Miami Working Group
Tuesdays at 5:30 pm | Call in – (305) 330-5788
LEAD:   Zelalem Adefris, Catalyst Miami

Disaster Resilience Working Group
Thursdays at 5:30 pm | Call in- (305) 330-5788
LEAD:   Serena Perez, New Florida Majority